Lesson Planning

I moved to a new school year and was really struggling with the new 42 minute class periods. After students complete 10 minutes of typing practice at the beginning of class, there was only 30 minutes of instruction left in the period! Not nearly enough time for direct instruction and independent practice followed by project work. I’ve been brainstorming for a while about how to improve this class structure. I finally decided to move to a two-day lesson approach. The first day is direct instruction followed by the second day of individual student project work, which allows for me to work individually with students. I am really liking this new approach to instruction in my classroom. It seems so simple! I was always so hung up on each lesson needing to be over in one class period. This approach is working well in my class for both me as the teacher and for the students.

What works for you in the classroom?

Tweet me @barry_christine or leave me a comment here.

Leave a Reply

