Building Community

The old adage, “Don’t smile until Christmas,” is definitely not adhered to in my classroom. One way I connect with my middle-school students is through humor. I have found that laughing at corny jokes together has allowed me to connect with my students. This past week was the often-dreaded April Fool’s Day. I decided to get ahead of the students this year and planned a few harmless pranks to pull on them. They went over well and we shared a few laughs together. I find humor a great way to build classroom community.

How do you build community in your classroom? Tweet me @barry_christine or leave a comment here.

Leave a Reply

