A Week in the Life of a Teacher…

… on summer break

Summer break is a time for me to rest, rejuvenate, and prepare for the next school year.
So far, this summer, I have led students on a week-long summer science enrichment camping experience in the mountains of Wyoming. I taught hands-on science lessons and guided students in ranch and camping activities.
I just returned from a two-week long education program in Rome, Italy. I was a participant in an educational tour program and visited various sites around Rome.
While my summer break is certainly a time free from grading, lesson planning, and meetings, I have been involved in these educational experiences as well as taking more time for myself than I typically have during the school year. I have read several books, caught up on my Netflix queue, and gone on long walks with my dog. The rest of the summer will be free from travel and once August hits, I will spend some time preparing for the new school year.

What are your summer days like? Leave a comment here or tweet me @barry_christine!

Leave a Reply

