Three Key Topics for Students to Learn

I was asked this week what are my top three things I want students to learn in terms of technology/social media.
Here is my response:

1. Digital citizenship
Our students need to know how to interact with each other online as well as with faceless strangers. We need to teach our students to be good models of ethics on and off line. We need to teach our students that there is no place for bullying, on or off line. We need to teach our students about upholding their character, on and off line.

2. Critical thinking skills
We need our students to be thinkers and doers. Regurgitating information from learned from a Google search doesn’t cut it anymore. We are preparing students for a world in which all information is available with just a few clicks on devices we carry in our pockets! We need to teach our students to evaluate information, to be critical of findings, and to take information and do more with it.

3. Digital literacy
We need to teach our students about copyright laws and giving credit to other people’s work. We need to teach our students how to create using all the tools at their disposal. We need to teach students coding–to increase their critical thinking skills and enable them to create anything their minds think of.

These are things I want my students to learn. I set up my curriculum and my lessons so that my students are digitally-literate, critically-thinking citizens prepared for the world.

What are your ideas? Leave me a comment or tweet me @barry_christine

Leave a Reply

