Using Testing Data in the Classroom

Too often our students take a myriad of standardized tests and then the results are sent to the school and obsessed over by the administration. Teachers often analyze the data and determine how groups of students did in certain areas of the test. Yet, too often, this analysis of the data is left in files and doesn’t translate into instruction in the classroom.
We spend so much time testing our students, but we need to make sure we are testing them for a reason. Teachers need to use the data to differentiate instruction in the classroom. I have used the data from benchmark testing to determine my small-group instruction and differentiate the learning for all my students. This process allows me to target instruction in my classroom to the needs of all my students.

How do you use data from standardized tests?

Let us know in the comments or tweet me @barry_christine!

Leave a Reply

