Here comes a new school year!

The new school year is looming ever so closely.
As I return to the classroom to begin my seventh year of teaching, I have some expectations for this year. Expectations for my students, my colleagues, my administrators, the parents of my students, and the general public.

For my students:
All I ask is that you try and give me your best self. Giving up is not an option. I can’t is not an option. I don’t expect perfection. I expect you to work hard and produce your best quality of work.

For my colleagues:
I ask that we always do what is best for our “kids” even if that might mean a little (or a lot) extra work.

For my administrators:
I ask that you trust me as I take my students on their learning journeys.
I also ask that you do not waste my time and my students’ time with useless meetings and annoying tasks.

For the parents of my students:
I ask that you remember that we are on the same page. We both want your child to succeed. Let’s remember to have patience with each other and trust in each other.
I also ask that you make sure you are the parent of your child. Make sure they do their homework, take away electronics so they can sleep, and let them fail so they can learn from their mistakes.

For the general public:
I ask that you remember that I am teaching the children who will grow up to be doctors, teachers, senators, CEOs, mothers, fathers, and McDonald’s employees—people you now interact with and rely upon.
I ask that you remember that I give up my nights, my weekends, and money from my own pocket to educate these young minds. I teach because I have a calling. Don’t belittle me.

For myself:
I expect you to work hard for your students. I expect you to advocate for your students. I expect you to give your students your best self.

Leave a Reply

