Choice-Based Art Ed at my Junior High

After two years of reading about TAB (Teaching for Artistic Behavior), watching my classes move in that direction, I decided to take the plunge.

You can read about it here.

It has been a revelation, a journey, opening doors and windows for all of us.Image

Here is how TAB Art works, at least for me.

Every week, at least once, I present a short demo lesson on something I am interested in, something I think they need to know, or something that seems to spin off some of their projects and interests.

For example, one week it was suminagashi marbling, because I had bought the kit, and we expanded to marbling on starch and on shaving cream (cool!).

This week it was tessellations, a little art history and a cool technique spinning off some isometric grid drawings we’d done last month.

Then during the week, the students may choose the project or something they are interested in doing. I have stations set up for drawing, painting, clay, printmaking, and 3D work. We’ve had lessons for skills in each of these during the first term.

They must document their work on an evaluation sheet (self-evaluation) as well as complete three approved major projects each term.

Read my blog. It seems almost too good to be true, but it is!

Leave a Reply

