Connected-ness

Some people think I am too busy. I slyly reply that it keeps me out of trouble;) But I’m thinking about connected-ness. You know, all of those things you know, or are good at, or think about, or have some connection with. If you look at my Pinterest boards, you will see a good example of my connections. At TEDx Columbus, David Staley talked about the importance of keeping a balance of our connections and exploring the conncetions of others around us.
So here’s my recent tale of connections. Yesterday, I finished Moore’s Common Core Teacher Guide to Transitioning to the CCSS (should be out sometime next week.) Then I went for a lunch meeting with my tour guide friend, Dave Matthews at PrimeTours. Each year I lead a fun-filled trip of 7th graders to Chicago. (See one of my other blogs) Then the conversation turned. I MIGHT be hosting an adult tour to Liverpool and London tentatively called The British Invasion Rock and Roll Roadshow.

Connections – Common Core, Chicago, Rock and Roll. Yes, that was my day.
As teachers we need to understand that students have just as many connections as we do. Complex and eclectic webs of connectivity. However, once material in the classroom is connected to a personal connection, it then becomes meaningful and easier to understand.

Also remember that your colleagues also have many other connections in their lives.  Stay connected, grounded, and balanced as we begin a new school year soon.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by DarlaMoore. Bookmark the permalink.

About DarlaMoore

In short - Teacher, Author, Speaker, and sometimes PopCulture Pirate. http://www.now2wowpublishing.com In long- Darla's 1st career was in Psychology. For the past 11 years she has taught everything from 3rd grade to college Freshmen in both urban and rural settings. She is a Lead Content Expert and Content Alignment Committee Member in the area of ELA for the Ohio Department of Education and has presented at numerous conferences and workshops. As an author she has contributed to The Gates Foundation, US Department of Education, ETS, AIR, and many other educational communities. Her anticipated series of books, Moore’s Common Core Teacher Guides will be available from Amazon starting July 2012. Follow her on Twitter at darlasays. You can also find her as part of Now2WOW Publishing

Leave a Reply

