Advice for high school graduates

Graduation season is upon us.

Students everywhere are donning their caps and gowns and suffer through long ceremonies with boring keynote speakers and then are finally, FINALLY, called to walk upon the stage and receive their diploma.

Graduation ceremonies always include some sort of commencement address that often begins and/or ends with the obligatory quotation from some famous dead person. These speeches typically offer big ideas about seizing the day and making a difference. Surely, we should all seize the day and strive to make a difference. But what about some practical advice for our graduates?

Here are a few tips of my own. I invite my readers to share their own tips and pieces of advice in the comments section or via email at christinebarry@comcast.net. I’ll compile the best responses and showcase them in next week’s blog post.

Here are my tips:

1. Don’t go to college unless you have a career plan that requires it.
I know many people will disagree with me on this point, but college is awfully expensive and if you don’t know what you want to do, don’t waste your (or your parent’s or the government’s) money. Figure out where you want to go and want you want to do and then develop a plan to get there. This plan might include college, but it might not.

2. Learn how to really save and budget your money.
Don’t live off credit cards and spend gobs of money on fast food. Budget wisely, save, and spend wisely.

3. Volunteer.
Whether you give back for one day, one week, one month, or one year, volunteering is a great way to give back to your community at home and around the world. You gain valuable experience and make connections with people. Don’t discount the opportunities that volunteering can provide.

I’ll end my list here with my top three.
Now, I want to hear from you!
Leave a comment with your piece of advice or tips for high school graduates. You can also email me at christinebarry@comcast.net. I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

