Is National Board Certification worth it?

A few years ago, I achieved National Board Certification. At that time, my state paid for most of it except for what I wanted college credit, then my district helped with that cost. At that time, I received and annual stipend for the distinction of being a National Board Teacher. It was a grueling ordeal with monetary perks.
Now, many states are cutting the stipends and funding. Teachers must pay for NB Certification out of their own pocket. I have heard colleagues say that they won’t re-new because of the cost. Younger teachers ask, “Is it worth it?”

National Board Certification is difficult. It challenged me. It made me think, and write, and re-think, and re-write. My head hurt at times and spun at others.
But when all of the writing and waiting was done, and I received that letter, I was proud of myself. I had accomplished something important, nationwide.
I don’t think there is enough recognition for teachers. I am honored to be a NBCT. It has opened doors for me of which most teachers only dream. I have met authors; spoke at conventions, worked with national organizations, even sat on governing boards. Most because of that NBCT.
For me, at the time, it was worth it. In this time of budget cuts and lower incomes, would it be worth it now. That is really difficult to say. I believe it depends on why a teacher wants the NBCT title.
Are you looking to be a better teacher in your classroom? Are you looking to improve your techniques based on research? Then at this point NBCT might not be the road for you. You might look at MET (Measures of Effective Teaching). This is a set of teaching criteria and exercises developed through the Gates Foundation and administered by ETS.
Are you looking to be a leader in your district, area, and state? Do you someday want to move beyond the classroom and be considered an expert in your field? Then National Board would be the right road to follow. Once you are an NBCT, you have many opportunities available to you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by DarlaMoore. Bookmark the permalink.

About DarlaMoore

In short - Teacher, Author, Speaker, and sometimes PopCulture Pirate. http://www.now2wowpublishing.com In long- Darla's 1st career was in Psychology. For the past 11 years she has taught everything from 3rd grade to college Freshmen in both urban and rural settings. She is a Lead Content Expert and Content Alignment Committee Member in the area of ELA for the Ohio Department of Education and has presented at numerous conferences and workshops. As an author she has contributed to The Gates Foundation, US Department of Education, ETS, AIR, and many other educational communities. Her anticipated series of books, Moore’s Common Core Teacher Guides will be available from Amazon starting July 2012. Follow her on Twitter at darlasays. You can also find her as part of Now2WOW Publishing

Leave a Reply

