Technology Tips

For this week’s blog post, I would like to provide you with 3 technology tips. As educators, we are always looking for new and innovative ways to use technology. Try out one of these tips next week in your classes.

1. Dragon dictation (on iPad)
I have a student in my class who is a a very low reader and writer. He also has dyslexia. I have used the Dragon dictation app on my iPad with him, so that he can write essays and stories. Right now, we are working on a tribute to an inventor paper. Without this app, he would need to dictate his essay to me and I would type it. Now, he can just record his thoughts, and then we can work on editing it together. The Dragon dictation app is free!

2. Let the students explore
Too often, we want students to use a certain program or website and we dictate exactly what steps to take and what to do. Instead, let the students explore the application on their own for at least 30 minutes. You can give them the basics, but let them do the rest. You’ll be amazed at what they can figure out. I have even told students during this exploration phase that I will answer no questions. They must try to figure it out on their own.

3. Virtual field trips
We all wish we could travel and bring our students along on the journey to discover new places and peoples. However, that typically is not possible. But, we can virtually bring students to landmarks, countries, and new peoples through the powers of technology. Connect via Skype with another class halfway around the world or even in the next state over. Use Google maps to zero in on landmarks and locations. Use the amazing NASA app to explore constellations and galaxies. The possibilities really are endless.

What technology tips do you have? Share them in the comments.

One thought on “Technology Tips

  1. Our middle school students were having difficulty with compatibility between computers at home and computers at school. There were always excuses of “it doesn’t work on my computer at home, I can’t open it here, I lost my flashdrive, I saved it to the school file store so I couldn’t work on it at home.”

    So we got everyone a google account and encourage them to use google docs. It’s not perfect, and sometimes the alignment gets messed up or you can’t do as many tricks, but there is a lot less excuses. Plus, if they are working on something as a group, they can share the document or presentation or spreadsheet, and all make changes from anywhere they have internet access.

Leave a Reply

