An Argument for Educators to use the Cloud

I would bet we’ve all done it:

It’s the weekend; we are at home and create a super amazing lesson with just the right materials (we’ve already printed out the handouts), as well as a bunch of amazing images on a PowerPoint that we’ve saved on a flash drive (floppy A’s, back in the day). Heck, we even built a demo example. What a great day this will be!

And we rush out the door and drive the fifteen minutes to school, just in time to do hall duty.

And we realize: we forgot all of it on the counter at home! Most of us are smart enough to still do a pretty amazing lesson, but it would have been so cool to have all the stuff we prepared.

Of course, you’reĀ  way ahead of me, I know. You just put it up on the Cloud.

I’ve used MediaFire, which is a free data storage service. You can save all kinds of stuff there, including music and artwork. On occasion, when I’ve presented at a workshop and want all the participants to have a copy of something, I put it up on MediaFire and supply the login and password. After a proper amount of time, I just change the password but I don’t ever put anything up there that I would mindĀ  being seen.

Now that our school district has embraced Google for email and other services, I use many of the Google tools, including Calendar. I haven’t seen if our services include EverNote and some of the other interesting Google apps.

However, teachers everywhere have figured this out. Check out this interesting blog about teaching art in the cloud. Most of us will automatically start thinking about how to use this stuff for ourselves. It’s cool to be able to log in and get what you need, whew! even if you left it home.

There’s always the discussion about cloud companies going out of business and losing your data. In the early days, this actually happened to me. I lost a third of a novel (well, that may be overstating the matter…but you get the idea).

However, these days, so goes the argument, any business getting close to going out of business is going to warn everybody so we can retrieve the data we want.

I’m in!

Leave a Reply

